2018 World Luxury Car Is The Audi A8! XC60 Wins World Car Of The Year!

XC60 Wins World Car Of The Year. The entire list of cars won awards such as performance, design and urban World Car of the year are listed below.

2018 World Luxury Car Is The Audi A8! The 82 jury members from 24 countries assessed everything, which includes the passenger comfort and safety, but also environmental aspects as well as driving performance, market relevance and price-performance ratio. The Audi A8 prevailed against two competitors in the final elimination round. This marks the ninth overall victory for the brand with the four rings in the World Car Awards.


The XC60 also scooped the prestigious North American Utility of the Year Award earlier this year, while the XC40 small SUV was named European Car of the Year at the Geneva Motor Show earlier this month. The World Car of the Year win is the first in this competition for Volvo Cars, the premium car maker.

In the new XC60, Euro NCAP’s best overall performer in 2017, Volvo’s City Safety Autonomous Emergency Braking system has been enhanced with steering support for when automatic braking alone may not help avoid a potential collision. In addition, oncoming Lane Mitigation with Steer Assist which helps mitigate head-on collisions and Blind Spot Information System (BLIS) with Steer Assist functionality has been added to reduce the risk of lane-changing collisions.

01_New Range Rover Velar - Exterior

Meanwhile, the Range Rover Velar beat the likes of the Lexus LC 500 and the Volvo XC 60 to take the crown back home. The manufacturer just launched the car in India and it is already in the chat circle for the same reason and of course traditional JLR traits that are on offer with this car.

The new BMW M5

The World Performance Car of the Year was awarded to a BMW (how obvious and awesome) and it was BMW M5! The beautiful and beast, M5, faced stiff competition from the other finalists such as the Honda Civic Type R and the Lexus LC 500.

Mark-6-2017-polo-unvieled (3)

The World Urban Car award was also announced and it was the new generation of the Volkswagen Polo that ended up taking the crown from the Ford Fiesta and Suzuki Swift.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.